<u>CMU's 28th Annual Food Drive</u> supporting the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank, sponsored by Staff Council, is underway through November 15. <u>Join the SCS team</u> or bring physical donations to one of the drop boxes on campus.

Join me in wishing a speedy recovery to Ph.D. student in the Institute for Software Research (ISR), Jeremy Lacomis, who experienced a recent medical emergency. <u>More information is available here</u>.

## SCS NEWS + AWARDS

— Artificial intelligence today incorporates senses like vision and sound, but touch remains an ongoing challenge. <u>ReSkin, a new open source touch-sensing "skin"</u> developed by Meta AI (formerly Facebook AI) researchers including Abhinav Gupta, an associate professor in the Robotics Institute (RI) and the research manager at Meta AI, Tess Hellebrekers, a postdoc researcher at Meta AI who earned her Ph.D. from RI and Raunaq Bhirangi, a Ph.D. student in robotics. ReSkin can help researchers advance their AI's tactile-sensing skills quickly and at scale. Read more about ReSkin in <u>this blog post</u> from Meta AI.

— Human-Computer Interaction Institute Professors Jeffrey Bigham, Patrick Carrington, Ken Holstein and Amy Ogan will lead CMU's participation in the <u>Connecting the EdTech Research EcoSystem</u> (CERES) network. They will collaborate with institutions around the world to <u>tailor digital technologies to help children</u> and <u>families</u> learn, play and socialize.

— Ellen Vitercik, who recently earned her Ph.D. from the Computer Science Department, received this year's SCS Dissertation Award for her work, "Automated Algorithm and Mechanism Configuration."She was advised by Nina Balcan and Tuomas Sandholm, is now a research fellow at UC Berkeley and will join the Stanford faculty next year. Honorable mentions included Brandon Bohrer, Jason Li, Toby Jia-Jun Li and Yang Yang. SCS has also nominated Vitercik and Bohrer to compete for the Association for Computing Machinery's Doctoral Dissertation Award. Many thanks to SCS faculty members Michael Erdmann, Nancy Pollard and Chinmay Kulkarni for serving as the selection committee.

Until next week, ---- Martial

## **REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES**

Connect with a <u>Dean's Advisory Committee</u> if you have questions or concerns you want to share. Connect with a representative leader from <u>SCS Council</u> if you'd like to submit a topic for Council to consider. Coronavirus <u>Updates & Information</u> and <u>FAQs</u> <u>SCS Alerts & Resources | For Students | For Staff | For Faculty | For Researchers</u>